A Month Without Music.

I would have said it couldn’t be done. Anyone who knows me would have said that I couldn’t do it.

This past month has been a perfect storm of badness in my personal and professional lives. It’s all conspired to keep me from any real music listening. Now to be fair it wasn’t literally a month without music; there was a little radio here and there; I managed to listen to the new U2 album a couple of times through.  But for someone that spends near two hours a day of commute time listening to the latest and greatest. For someone who keeps the MP3 player running 8-hours a day at work in a effort to keep up. For that guy; MAN this felt like a month without music.

I’ve sometimes wondered, to myself but never out loud, is this all some mad habit that I’ve built for myself over the years? Would I miss it if it was gone? I learned the answer over this past month. It’s passion, not addiction. It’s love, not lust. God, I missed the music. It was a strange and disconnected month.

I’ve been carpooling with my brother-in-law for the last bunch of weeks. It’s been great to spend some quality time in extended conversations with Joe. Our time together is so often a tidal wave of 6 kids crawling atop one another. The commute has been a nice time to catch up; talk about our respective families; catch up on the trials and tribulations of worklife. Even with all the conversation it’s been oddly silent.That’s no cut on Joe. It’s simply that an important part of my life, one that I’ve apparently come to count on, has been removed entirely. There’s a weird sense of loss.

Professionally things have been likewise tumultuous. Imagine putting everything you do in a day, tossing it in the blender, and hitting puree. I went to sleep one night and woke up in Crazy World. My industry has been turned on it’s head in 2009, to the point that most of us don’t recognize the business any longer. Opportunity abounds, but the whirlwind means that I’ve foregone even my regular background music. It’s made the days seem, at the same time, longer and shorter. Both in a bad way. Some people can’t concentrate with music rolling in the background, I can’t concentrate in silence. Whether it’s the nu-metal that I trade with the IT guy, or the psychedelia that I trade with the training training guy, it all gets me through the day. Take it away and things just get harder.

It’s going to be quite some time before things are back to what I would consider normal. In fact, I’m not entirely sure what I had come to think of as normal even exists anymore. Nonetheless, over the next few weeks I’m going to make a concerted effort to bring the music back in. I’m going to turn the volume back up. Way up if I can.

~ by spinthis45 on March 14, 2009.

One Response to “A Month Without Music.”

  1. So the IT guy and the training training guy get mentions? I better watch myself….

Leave a Reply

 
