Weezer – (The Red Album).

Weezer are like an old high school friend. The one that drifts in and out of your life over the years. The friend that  lives some amazingly romantic, nomadic life. Not the friend that joins a Fortune 500 company and globe trots in their personal jet but the friend that hitchkikes across the country, always managing to get by on sheer wits. You know the friend, right? We all have at least one. Admittedly, as I push 40, those friends are harder to find but there still always seems to be at least one. That’s what Weezer is for me. That old enigmatic friend. I may not be in touch every day but I know that one day soon he’ll be back to share his latest adventures with me.

Who ever would have imagined after hearing Undone (The Sweater Song) in 1994 that these guys would reliably produce some of the best albums of the next decade and a half. I was so certain Undone (the Sweater Song) was a novelty hit that I paid very little attention when Pinkerton was released 2 years later. Shame on me but it’s true. A lot of Weezer songs have skirted that novelty line. Nearly joke songs. Nearly a mokery of themselves. But that’s the genuis; the key to their relevence. Even at their most bombastic they never take themselves very seriously.

If you’re 10 or 15 years older than me, I think the best comparison is AC/DC. Yeah, I’m serious. Think about it. What other band can you think of that can write the same songs over and over again; making them always sound fresh and relevent, and always rocking harder than you expected? Weezer are the AC/DC of Generation X. It’s always a suprise to me when I pick up an old Weezer album how contemporary they sound. They’re not dated in the least. Their first album, and each in between, is as new and exciting as the Red Album. And this, without ever breaking any new ground. Give a listen. I swear they’ve made the same album 7-times over. But don’t get me wrong. That’s exactly how I like my Weezer. Just like I like that friend. In perpetual motion but never going anywhere; never really gettting any older. That’s the friend that you can count on to help you escape the drudgery of your own life. That’s my Weezer.

~ by spinthis45 on January 3, 2009.

2 Responses to “Weezer – (The Red Album).”

  1. But is “The Greatest Man That Ever Lived” in any way indicative of any generation’s memories? It’s so schizophrenic and annoying that I find it hard to listen through. That and now-terrible lyrics with pathetic rhymes and cadence… I really miss old Weezer.

    • I’ve got to disagree with you, Matt. “The Greatest Band That Ever Lived” is a perfect example of why I love Weezer. A totally over-the-top, multi-part suite ala Bohemian Rhapsody but with it’s tongue planted firmly in its cheek. Or a least I think it’s tongue-in-cheek. Throw in the fact that my eight year-old son freaking loves it and there’s no turning back. I discovered today that it’s included in the Rock Band video game. I have to admit that I wasn’t thrilled to learn that.

Leave a Reply

 
