The Time Machine Test: Rules Change.

I’m changing the rules for the Time Machine Test. I know, who do I think I am? After 1 installment I’m already changing the rules? Well guess what? It’s my blog. I’ll do what I want. But in the interest of fairness I’m going to explain why the rules are changing and how it’s going to work from now on (or until I decide to change the rules again).

The Time Machine test is now a head-to-head battle between 2 bands. 1 winner, 1 loser. Think The Carpenters vs. ABBA, or Lynrd Skynrd vs. The Charlie Daniels Band. I think this format will give me more flexibility to discuss the virtues and downfalls of a particular band while not having to outright fail someone. Charlie Daniels might eak out a win over Lynrd Skynrd, but the Freebird guys can go home with their heads held high for having fought the good battle.

Truly this rule change comes the crisis of conscience that I had following the first Time Machine Test post. Giving 7 Seconds a FAIL hurt me then and the pain has festered. Their whiny vocals and over-wrought lyrics may not have aged as well as some of my favorite hardcore but do they really deserve a failing mark? I think not. 7 Seconds would be much better served with the head-to-head model. They still would have lost their battle with the Freeze but at least Kev and the boys could maintain their self respect.

So that’s that. The new Time Machine Test rules. I like them a lot. I feel better about the situation. I hope you do too. If you don’t, you can always shout back at me.

~ by spinthis45 on December 27, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
